SOE Alumni Association

The SOE Alumni Association supports SOE’s mission of effectively preparing educators and other education personnel for professional performance in diverse cultural contexts. It serves as a connection for which SOE alumni can give back to their alma mater by sharing their talents, resources, etc. in different SOE events. It further serves as a source for developing alumni pride, spirit, and life-long commitments to the School of Education.

SOE Alumni Association Officers: Pictured left row (front): Dr. Darlene Roberto, Treasurer; Martha Sudo, Secretary; and Dr. Lourdes P. Klitzkie, Advisor. Pictured right row (front): Rose Cruz Castro, President; Margaret Beem, Vice President, and Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Webmaster.

SOE Alumni Newsletter

SOE Alumni Association Scholarship and Grant Forms

Click on the following links to access the SOE Alumni Association scholarship and grant forms:

Sunday, March 16, 2008

SOE Alumni Update: Family Night with the Stars

Dr. Rivera, SOE Alumni President and LBJ Elem. ESL Teacher/Coordinator & UOG Adjunct, assisted with LBJ’s Family Night with the Stars event held on February 21, 2008. LBJ families were treated to Read Alouds conducted by local celebrities. The event was coordinated by members of the school’s Focus Group D in an effort to increase family literacy. Pictured with Dr. Rivera are Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) members and officers who volunteered their time to assist in the event. Pictured front row L-R: Viviann Joy Rivera, Bobbie Arevalo, Lizel Patubo, Jona Abaya, Nakita Bragonza, and Kristy Galindo. Second row L-R: Edelynn Blas; Kimberlie Castro; Sherry Santos; Edna Portin; Jovonne Aguon, ACEI President,and Lehualani Kahele, ACEI PRO. Third row L-R: Eliza Anderson; Myra Jean Aguon; Antoinette Arriola; Melanie Cruz; Jennifer Blas, ACEI Vice President; Myleen Ramos, ACEI Secretary; Anthony Perez; and Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera. Fourth row L-R: Marita Pareja, Jennifer Peralta, Beauty Letewasiyal, and Clifford the Big Red Dog.

SOE Alumni Update: Read Across America

Dr. Rivera, SOE Alumni President, participated in the Read Across America event held at the Hagatna Public Library. The UOG Early Childhood Program in partnership with the Association Childhood Education International (ACEI) and the Guam Public Library System, hosted the event in celebration of Dr. Seuss’ 104th birthday on Saturday, March 8, 2008 at the Hagatna Public Library. Pictured kneeling L-R: Asherdee Rosete, ACEI Advisor and Early Childhood Professor; Beauty Letewaiyal; Suemalee Torres; Viviann Joy Rivera; Bobbie Arevalo; Jona Abaya; and Kimberlie Castro. Standing L-R: Matilda Naputi Rivera, ACEI Advisor and Language & Literacy Professor; Jeannie Chapman; Brianne Naputi; Jovonne Aguon, ACEI President; Myleen Ramos, ACEI Secretary; Mariana Santos; Danielle Bansil; Jennifer Blas, ACEI Vice President; Ewalani Escrupulo; Mayrene Huffer; Vaughn Baisa; Alicia Quintanilla; Antoinette Arriola; Julia Tyquiengco; Marilyn Jackson, ACEI Advisor and Early Childhood Professor; Erika Flores; Marita Pareja; and Kenneth Castro. Not pictured is Lehualani Kahele, ACEI PRO.

Alumni Participation

Dr. Rivera, SOE Alumni President and ACEI Advisor, participated in the UOG hosting of Dr. Kathryn Takara, associate professor from the University of Hawaii-Manoa. Dr. Takara was the keynote speaker in Saipan for the Martin Luther King Jr. national holiday celebration. She visited the UOG School of Education, where she was honored with an evening fiesta sponsored by two SOE student organizations, the Association for Childhood Education International and Future Educators of Guam Association. Other guests for the event include Dr. Marilyn Malloy Jackson, ACEI Advisor; Dr. Mary Jane Miller; Dr. Jacqui Cyrus; Dr. Lou Ferrer; Audrey Certeza, FEGA public relations officer; Vanessa Perez, FEGA president; Dr. Patrick Leddy, SOE executive director; Anna Wignarajah, Montessori House of Children in Harmon; Jovonne Aguon, ACEI president; Jennifer Blas, ACEI vice president; Myleen Ramos, ACEI secretary; Melissa Hernandez, ACEI and FEGA member; Veronica Ramirez, ACEI treasurer; Fred Jackson; and Jessica Candaso, FEGA secretary. PDN publication: http://www.guampdn.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080316/LIFESTYLE02/80315019

Saturday, March 15, 2008

Alumni Officers Conduct ESL Presentation

Dr. Rivera, left, and Lois Taitano Gumataotao, right, presented an ESL writing workshop during the Int'l Reading Assoc. Read-A-Thon 2008 “Get Carried Away with Reading” professional development workshop held on Feb. 8 at the Guam Hotel Nikko. They received certificates of appreciation from the organization in recognition of service and valuable contribution. PDN publication: http://www.guampdn.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20080312/LIFESTYLE02/80311030

Saturday, March 1, 2008

SOE Alumni Association Officers Elected

Members elected Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera as the new President for the SOE Alumni Association, Lois Taitano Gumataotao as the Vice President, Liwanag Dominguez as the Secretary, and Mae Mendiola as the Treasurer. Dr. Lourdes Klitzkie, Professor Emeritus, is the Advisor.

Pictured L-R: Dominguez, Gumataotao, Dr. Klitzkie, Dr. Rivera, and Mendiola.

SOE Alumni Association Donation

The SOE Alumni Association donated funds to support the SOE Computer Lab's internet connection.

Pictured L-R: George Pereda, Dr. Lourdes Klitzkie, Dr. Paul Wallace and Dr. Catherine Stoicovy.