SOE Alumni Association

The SOE Alumni Association supports SOE’s mission of effectively preparing educators and other education personnel for professional performance in diverse cultural contexts. It serves as a connection for which SOE alumni can give back to their alma mater by sharing their talents, resources, etc. in different SOE events. It further serves as a source for developing alumni pride, spirit, and life-long commitments to the School of Education.

SOE Alumni Association Officers: Pictured left row (front): Dr. Darlene Roberto, Treasurer; Martha Sudo, Secretary; and Dr. Lourdes P. Klitzkie, Advisor. Pictured right row (front): Rose Cruz Castro, President; Margaret Beem, Vice President, and Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Webmaster.

SOE Alumni Association Scholarship and Grant Forms

Click on the following links to access the SOE Alumni Association scholarship and grant forms:

Saturday, January 31, 2009

SOE Alumni Update: 21 Enroll in Fall 2008 Special Education Cohort

The School of Education held its first official Saturday class for the new fall 2008 Special Education Cohort. Twenty-one new Master of Education students enrolled in this accelerated Special Education certificate and Masters program. Participants are all Guam Public School System teachers, with the exception one participant who is a St. John's teacher.

This is the fourth Special Education Cohort in the last 18 months. There are 65 Special Education graduate students in the program, and 17 students are expected to graduate in December 2008; 12 are expected to graduate in May 2008.

SOE Alumni Update: UOG School of Education Special Education Summer Institute 2008

The above individuals participated in an intensive eight-week special education summer institute at the University of Guam. Participants earned credits toward their certificate and/or graduate degree in special education. The institute was expanded to seniors in the School of Education pursuing Elementary/Secondary degrees who wanted to obtain Special Education certification as undergraduate students. Pictured from left, front row, are: Cathy Cardenas, Julie Fee, Assistant Professor of Special Education, Sumch Kintaro, Bobby Quinata, Laura Taisipic, Gerianne Eclavea, Norine Guzman, Janice Almoguera, Maui Poe, Phililp Almonte, Dr. Patrick Leddy, Executive Director, School of Education: back row, from left: Dr. John Sanchez, Associate Professor of Education, Sam Bejerana, Carolyn Figg, Allsyon Iseke, Christine Hernandez, Rita Reyes, Jennifer Blas, Sangi Susuico, Rick Quinata, Dr. Richard W. Fee, Associate Professor of Special Education. Not pictured: Sherri Perez, Cendy Nozawa, Renee-Lynn Sanchez, Gina Kruaprasert, Cecilia San Nicolas, Paula Ulloa, Matsue Evans, Eric Bamba, and Leilanii Aflague.

SOE Alumni Update: Special Education Students Study for Praxis II

University of Guam Special Education students spent a day preparing for the national Praxis II: Special Education examination as part of Guam Public School System’s new certification requirements. Students participating in the preparation day include from left, front row: Carolyn Figg, Phyllis Leon Guerrero, Christine Hernandez; from left second row: Paula Ulloa, Norma Santos, Bobby Quinata Gerianne Eclavea, Lenith Atenith, Rita-Rose Hualde, Sumch Kintaro, Norine Guzman, Janice Almoguera; from left back row: Dr. Richard W. Fee, Associate Professor of Special Education, William Sullivan, Vicky Perez, Rita Reyes, Allyson Iseke, Christine Rosario, Cathy Cardenas, Laura Taisipic, Maui Poe, and Sam Bejerana.

Thursday, January 29, 2009

SOE Alumni Update: UOG Unveils Sculpture at the Jesus S. and Eugenia A. Leon Guerrero SBPA Building

The University of Guam and UOG Endowment Foundation unveiled a sculpture of Jesus S. and Eugenia A. Leon Guerrero at the Jesus S. and Eugenia A. Leon Guerrero School of Business and Public Administration building on Dec. 11, 2009. From left: Sonny Ada, Board of Regents chairman; former Gov. Joseph F. Ada, UOG Endowment board director; Eugenia A. Leon Guerrero; Jesse A. Leon Guerrero, UOG Endowment board director, and son of Jesus S. and Eugenia A. Leon Guerrero; Wilfred P. Leon Guerrero (in back), UOG Endowment Foundation board chairman; Dr. Robert Underwood, UOG president; William Leon Guerrero and Cynthia Henson, UOG Board of Regents.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

SOE Alumni Update: A Memorable Event in Guam: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration and Countdown Inauguration

Guam honored Dr. Martin Luther King's legacy and the Obama victory - the first African American and the 44th president of the United States with a Countdown Inauguration Tuesday evening, January 20, 2009 at the Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort. The Countdown Inauguration was informal but a gala affair with food, drinks and entertainment that was organized by committee members: Kathy Davis-Finch, Pattie Arroryo and Josh Tenorio.

The Countdown reception also highlighted a special ceremony for Dr. Marilyn Malloy Jackson, for two decades that she has honored her African American culture and Dr. King, the 1964 Nobel Prize Winner and the first African American to be honored by a national holiday.
The special ceremony included senators: J. Guthertz, F. Aguon, B.J. Cruz, Muna-Barnes, Pangelinan and R. Respicio. Senators commended and gave recognition to Dr. Jackson with a Legislative Certificate for her "extra ordinary vision and her relentless determination for celebrating Dr. Martin Luther King's birthday for over two decades."

Dr. Jackson is a University of Guam professor and a Guam resident and educator for over 40 years. Dr. Jackson's recognition and commendation expressed on behalf of the Guam Legislature stated, Dr. Jackson embodies the call to action as expressed by President elect Barrack Obama:
"if one voice can change a room, then it can change a city; if it can change a city, then it can change a state; if it can change a state, it can change the country; if it can the country, then it can change the world. Let's go change the world."

Dr. Marilyn Malloy Jackson was awarded by the 30th Guam Legislature for her community accomplishments, commitment, and dedication in celebrating Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. on January 20, 2009 at the Sheraton Hotel. Pictured above left to right: Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Dr. Jose Cruz, Dr. Jackson, and Julia Allen.

Dr. Marilyn Malloy Jackson and ACEI Officers celebrate President Barack Obama's victory and a special MLK award given to Dr. Jackson on January 20, 2009. Pictured above left to right: Beauty Letewasiyal, Secretary; Dr. Jackson, ACEI Advisor and award recipent; Nakita Braganza, Public Relations Officer; Alicia Quintanilla, President; Ewalani Escrupulo, Vice President; and Kimberlie Castro, Treasurer. Not pictured are Vaughn Baisa, Public Relations Officer; Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, ACEI Advisor; and Asherdee Rosete, ACEI Advisor.

Sunday, January 11, 2009

SOE Alumni Update: Master of Education in Special Education Graduates

The above University of Guam students received their Master of Education in Special Education degrees during the university’s commencement ceremony on Dec. 21, 2008. Front row, from left: Janice Almoguera, Geri Eclavea, Rite Reyes, Catherine Cardenas, Lillian Llaneta, Christine Hernandez, Laura Taisipic, Sumch Kintaro, Renee-Lynn Sanchez, Norine Guzman, and Professor Julie Fee. Back row, from left: Maui Poe, Professor Jacqui Cyrus, Manny Balmeo, Sam Bejerana, John Sanchez, Professor Mary Jane Miller, Program Advisor Richard Fee, Allyson Iseke, and Professor Lawrence Kodiyanplakkal. Not pictured is Sherri Perez.