SOE Alumni Association

The SOE Alumni Association supports SOE’s mission of effectively preparing educators and other education personnel for professional performance in diverse cultural contexts. It serves as a connection for which SOE alumni can give back to their alma mater by sharing their talents, resources, etc. in different SOE events. It further serves as a source for developing alumni pride, spirit, and life-long commitments to the School of Education.

SOE Alumni Association Officers: Pictured left row (front): Dr. Darlene Roberto, Treasurer; Martha Sudo, Secretary; and Dr. Lourdes P. Klitzkie, Advisor. Pictured right row (front): Rose Cruz Castro, President; Margaret Beem, Vice President, and Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Webmaster.

SOE Alumni Association Scholarship and Grant Forms

Click on the following links to access the SOE Alumni Association scholarship and grant forms:

Friday, October 31, 2008

SOE Alumni Update: UOG Alumni Officers Sworn In

UOG Alumni Induction Ceremony: Superior Court Steven Unpingco swore in the new officers of the University of Guam Alumni Association during the association’s Awards/Inauguration ceremony held October 3, 2008 at the Guam Hilton Resort and Spa. Pictured L-R: James Underwood, Treasurer; Toni Aflague, Secretary; Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Vice President; and Jennifer Sanchez, President.

SOE Alumni Update: SOE Students Pass Praxis I Examination

Praxis Examination: School of Education students who are pursuing a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education have recently passed the Praxis 1 exam required for teacher certification. The Praxis 1 exam consists of Academic Skills Assessments which measure proficiency in reading, writing and mathematics. Pictured L-R: Jodi Borja, Erika Flores Arceo, Lisa Taitano, Joshua C. Damian, Mara Andrada, Brianne Naputi, and Joleen Gay.

SOE Alumni Update: ACEI Officers Meet with GPSS Superintendent

ACEI Visit: The University of Guam’s Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) recently made a courtesy visit with the Guam Public School System Superintendent, Dr. Nerissa Bretania-Shafer. Pictured L-R: Vaughn Baisa, Public Relations Officer; Beauty Letewasiyal, Secretary; Dr. Marilyn M. Jackson, ACEI Advisor; Kimberlie Castro, Treasurer; Dr. Nerissa Bretania-Shafer, Guam Public School System Superintendent; Alicia Quintanilla, President; Ewalani Escrupulo, Vice President; and Nakita Braganza, Public Relations Officer. Not pictured are ACEI Advisors Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera and Asherdee Rosete.

Saturday, October 4, 2008

SOE Alumni Update: Congratulations to UOG Alumni Association’s 2007 Distinguished Alumni Recipients and Newly Elected Alumni Association Officers!

SOE Adjunct Professor is honored with the 2007 Alumni Distinguished Service Award and Sworn in as UOG Alumni Association’s Vice President

The UOG Alumni Association hosted its 2007 Distinguished Alumni Awards and Inauguration Ceremony at the Guam Hilton Resort and Spa on October 3, 2008.

Three of UOG’s School of Education faculty were nominated for the Alumni Distinguished Service Award. They are Dr. Marilyn Malloy Jackson, Associate Professor; Dr. Catherine Stoicovy , Associate Professor; and Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, GPSS ESL Teacher/Coordinator and UOG Adjunct Professor.

Dr. Rivera was honored with the Alumni Distinguished Service Award for 2007. She was selected by a panel of four judges, including Speaker Judith Won Pat; Col. James Montague, Commander Air Guard; Al Almira, Comptroller, TakeCare Asia; and Cathleen Moore-Linn, Director of Integrated Marketing and Communications. Dr. Rivera was also sworn in as the assocation's incoming Vice President.

The other four award categories featured during the event include the Alumni Distinguished Leadership Award, Young Alumni Achievement Award, Honorary Alumni Award, and 2007 Distinguished Alumni Award.

Nominees for the Alumni Distinguished Leadership Award were Marie Lizama , Sales Manager, Northwest Airlines; Lolita Reyes, Assistant Director, Development and Alumni Relations, GCC; and Jude Anita Sukola, Superior Court Guam. Lizama was honored with the 2007 Alumni Distinguished Leadership Award.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award nominees were Marcos Fong, Managing Director, Nakicos Corporation & Glimpses Advertising; Michael San Nicolas, Financial Services Officer/Investment Executive for Bank of Guam & PrimeVest Financial Services, Inc.; and Jason Tedtaotao, Special Assistant for Policy Clarification and Training Facilitator for the Guam State Clearing House. Fong was honored with the 2007 Young Alumni Achievement Award.

Nominees for the Honorary Alumni Award were Bank of Guam; Continental Airlines; Foremost; Northwest Airlines; South Pacific Petroleum Company; and Take Care Asia Pacific. Bank of Guam was honored with the 2007 Honorary Alumni Award.

The 2007 Distinguished Alumni Award nominees were Senator Frank Ishizaki, 29th Guam Legislature; Carlos Camacho, Businessman; and Mary Okada, President, Guam Community College. Camacho was honored with the 2007 Distinguished Alumni Award.

The newly elected UOG Alumni Association Officers were also sworn in by Judge Steven Unpingco during a special alumni inauguration ceremony. The incoming officers are Jennifer Sanchez, President; Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Vice President; Toni Aflague, Secretary; and James Underwood, Treasurer.