SOE Alumni Association

The SOE Alumni Association supports SOE’s mission of effectively preparing educators and other education personnel for professional performance in diverse cultural contexts. It serves as a connection for which SOE alumni can give back to their alma mater by sharing their talents, resources, etc. in different SOE events. It further serves as a source for developing alumni pride, spirit, and life-long commitments to the School of Education.

SOE Alumni Association Officers: Pictured left row (front): Dr. Darlene Roberto, Treasurer; Martha Sudo, Secretary; and Dr. Lourdes P. Klitzkie, Advisor. Pictured right row (front): Rose Cruz Castro, President; Margaret Beem, Vice President, and Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Webmaster.

SOE Alumni Newsletter

SOE Alumni Association Scholarship and Grant Forms

Click on the following links to access the SOE Alumni Association scholarship and grant forms:

Tuesday, April 8, 2008

SOE Alumni Update: Guam English Language Proficiency Standards Participation

Dr. Rivera, SOE Alumni President and Lois Gumataotao, SOE Alumni Vice President, participated in Guam's ESL Standards Project, as part of the course LN494/G – Special Studies: Second Language Acquisition through Standard Development. They, along with other Guam educators are spearheading the development of Guam’s PreK-12 English Language Proficiency Standards. The course was sponsored by the Guam English as a Second Language Certification Plus Project, a federally funded Title III National Professional Development grant by the Office of English Language Acquisition (OELA), U.S. Dept. of Education. Guam ESL Cert+ Project is administered by the Micronesian Language Institute, University of Guam in consortia with the Guam Public School System. The course was co-taught by Dr. Margo Gottlieb from the Illinois Resource Center and Professor Rosa Salas Palomo, Project Director.
Pictured front row from L-R: Faye Camacho Kaible, Melissa Pablo, Margo Gottlieb, Rufina Mendiola, and Teresita Flores. Second Row, L-R: Jocelyn Santos, Marilyn Perez, Marife Fernandez, Dr. Matilda Naputi Rivera, Lucy Leon Guerrero, June Taitano, and Cecilia Bermudes. Back Row, L-R: Lorena Montague, Roy Leon Guerrero, Dr. Jose Cruz, Lois Taitano Gumataotao, Zander Refilong, Keith Juarez, Professor Rosa Salas Palomo, and Priscilla C.T. Perez. Not pictured are Gene Dydasco, Kirk Drygas, and Dr. Dan Robertson.